Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3 Report

Discussion in 'General Help' started by xxx-xxxxx, Jun 4, 2011.

  1. cubed3d

    cubed3d

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Jul 28, 2011 #21
    cubed3d

    cubed3d

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    *LATEST EDIT*
    I've fixed my issues. I think I would've been fine before had I not done a few things wrong.

    First thing I did wrong was I ran the UpdateHelper after I ran the ComboUpdate. I had some instructions from before it was the most recent UpdateHelper version. This one you only run once and that's before you run the ComboUpdate to 10.6.8. Remember you need to restart after running UpdateHelper, then run the ComboUpdate once you are back to your desktop. This was my main problem.

    Some other minor things I did wrong was installing Chameleon boot loader from Multibeast when I was using a DSDT. Chameleon is only for people who don't use a DSDT or EasyBeast as it states which I didn't read til now. Basically that really bogged up the boot process.

    Now everything is working except my HD6870 doesn't have the 2nd DVI port active which is annoying. I hear the DisplayPort works but I don't have an adapter to test with.

    =============================================================
    Original Post
    I've been having problems with getting my ethernet to work. I installed using a 10.6.4 CD and iBoot 3.1.1. I was a little uncertain as to the process to update to 10.6.8 with some of the instructions I was reading for SandyBridge. I may have messed something up because I ran the UpdateHelper both before and after the ComboUpdate. I have tried with the latest Multibeast to get the Ethernet working but it hasn't decided to cooperate yet.

    I just decided to do a BIOS update to F4 (I was on F3) and see if that helps. Also I did use the DSDT from the DSDT Database for the F3 install. Hopefully there's some odd quirk with F3 that made the Ethernet not work and now that I'm on F4 it will work. I really have nothing to lose right now so I'm trying whatever I can.

    Something else I'm curious about... I am using an XFX HD6870 throughout the entire install process. I am not sure whether there is problems behind the scenes with me doing this but as far as a visual goes.. it works and after the 10.6.8 update it recognizes it without me loading drivers. I'm not 100% sure stuff like QE/CI are working as I haven't gotten to the point where I'm testing that yet since my Ethernet is broke. So question is, do I need to run off the onboard video during install process or am I OK not doing that?

    Thanks!
     
  2. Esc

    Esc

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30
    Jul 28, 2011 #22
    Esc

    Esc

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30
    You might want to try an install without the video card. I have the exact same components (not sure about your hard drive). Other than switching between a usb and a regular keyboard a couple of times, the install went smoothly. I'm using the F3 Bios.

    I don't have sleep working yet, but everything else seems to be 100%.

    Anyone have a fix for the sleep issue?
     
  3. Badeendje

    Badeendje

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    59
    Mobo:
    Asrock Fatal1ty Z170 Gaming-ITX/ac
    CPU:
    Intel i7 6700K
    Graphics:
    Asus 960
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jul 30, 2011 #23
    Badeendje

    Badeendje

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    59
    Mobo:
    Asrock Fatal1ty Z170 Gaming-ITX/ac
    CPU:
    Intel i7 6700K
    Graphics:
    Asus 960
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Did any of you get the USB3 ports to work in lion? The Lacie drivers are giving me KP, they're ment for snow leo anyways.

    My only problem not working right is sleep: My hack pro will go into sleep, wake up but I can't login till I replug the keyboard. Somehow the USB2 ports don't wake up properly and it would be a nice thing if the USB3 ports did.

    Also the only other thing I noticed, the disks on the controller are seen as removable disks (thus being yellow). It's purely a cosmethics thing but sure would be nice to fix it. I tried AHCIPortInjector.kext that worked for this kind of bug before but now it won't...

    Anyways if anyone can point to the USB2/3-Sleep problem that would be extremely helpful :D
     
  4. malimilan

    malimilan

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Mobo:
    MAC OS X 10.6.8
    CPU:
    Core2Duo E6300 1.8GHz
    Graphics:
    ATI RadeOn 5670
    Jul 31, 2011 #24
    malimilan

    malimilan

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Mobo:
    MAC OS X 10.6.8
    CPU:
    Core2Duo E6300 1.8GHz
    Graphics:
    ATI RadeOn 5670
    I don't have a hackintosh yet, but i'm planning on building one with the same motherboard. Could you run multibeast and check "IOAHCIBlockStorageInjector", under "Disk"? Shouldn't that fix the problem?
     
  5. Badeendje

    Badeendje

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    59
    Mobo:
    Asrock Fatal1ty Z170 Gaming-ITX/ac
    CPU:
    Intel i7 6700K
    Graphics:
    Asus 960
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jul 31, 2011 #25
    Badeendje

    Badeendje

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    59
    Mobo:
    Asrock Fatal1ty Z170 Gaming-ITX/ac
    CPU:
    Intel i7 6700K
    Graphics:
    Asus 960
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I tried some versions, and finally found a version that worked, though it broke sleep.
    Now I removed it and sleep still isn't back, trying to figure out what;s causing it now since it did work before I applied the kext.


    Edit:
    Finally fixed everything but a small problem with sleep: I got to press the powerbutton twice!
    First one gets the pc back on, 2nd press gets me to the login screen. It used to go to the loginscreen at once. I could post the log from the event but there isn't much to see really, at least for me. While searching for this problem I haven't come across any usefull information really. I just found out I really can't use NullCPUPowermanagement as it will break sleep for sure, but I see no need for it in my build anyways.
     
  6. joshuakao

    joshuakao

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Mobo:
    10.6,10.7,10.8,10.9
    CPU:
    i5-750,i3-2100,i7-2600,G3420
    Graphics:
    9800GT,9600GT,GT520,GT430,GT460,GT620
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Classic, LC, Power Mac, Quadra
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Aug 1, 2011 #26
    joshuakao

    joshuakao

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Mobo:
    10.6,10.7,10.8,10.9
    CPU:
    i5-750,i3-2100,i7-2600,G3420
    Graphics:
    9800GT,9600GT,GT520,GT430,GT460,GT620
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Classic, LC, Power Mac, Quadra
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    I brought Z68x-UD3H-B3/2500/4G*4/GV-N98TOC-1GI/Seagate 1TB for my Build,I used to have P55-UD6/i5-750 with other component,I ran P55-UD6 for Mac very well ,So I upgrade to SB.
    Some problems I meet:
    1.Sound card driver wrong(but still have sound)
    2.NIC wrong:8169 but mine is 8111E(but still work)
    3.Booting unstable , sometimes well , sometimes KP.

    My trying process:
    iBoot=>10.6 DVD install ok=>no update & multibeast with dsdt (F4)=>can't boot to Mac
    =>put iBoot to boot in Mac=>Updatehelper & reboot=>10.6.8 update(v1.0) ok=>reboot to Mac fail
    =>put iBoot again to Mac=>Multibeast with dsdt(8XX+rollback/realtek 8xxx)=>reboot KP
    =>iboot to Mac again=>multibeast,multibeast,multibeast....again & again

    I install realtek 8xxx can't work , install lnx2mac(it say that can't support 8111E,install debug mode or can't work , only see the NIC but always shows cable not plug)
    Sound card in the beginning works , but sound like poooooo,after install non-dsdt 889 patch , it works normal , but system show 886?

    I met twice crashs after sleep , but I turn it off already , only screen saver active , So I turn them all off now.

    I also met radom KP when booting , restart and put iBoot disk to Mac and repair disk sevel time .

    My old P55-UD6 work perfect , Thanks all to help us .
     
  7. Badeendje

    Badeendje

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    59
    Mobo:
    Asrock Fatal1ty Z170 Gaming-ITX/ac
    CPU:
    Intel i7 6700K
    Graphics:
    Asus 960
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Aug 4, 2011 #27
    Badeendje

    Badeendje

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    59
    Mobo:
    Asrock Fatal1ty Z170 Gaming-ITX/ac
    CPU:
    Intel i7 6700K
    Graphics:
    Asus 960
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I could make a guide to have it work 100% and 100% correct.
    Apart from the sleep issue, you need to double press yout powerbutton/mouse/kayboard twice to wake it up, I got it to work 100% like a real mac.
    Well that is if you don't take USB3 into account.
    So far only tried OSX Lion but I can tell you, this is by far the best PC I ever had, it just works and really well at that. With your hardware there shouldn't be any issues whatsoever.
     
  8. joshuakao

    joshuakao

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Mobo:
    10.6,10.7,10.8,10.9
    CPU:
    i5-750,i3-2100,i7-2600,G3420
    Graphics:
    9800GT,9600GT,GT520,GT430,GT460,GT620
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Classic, LC, Power Mac, Quadra
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Aug 6, 2011 #28
    joshuakao

    joshuakao

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Mobo:
    10.6,10.7,10.8,10.9
    CPU:
    i5-750,i3-2100,i7-2600,G3420
    Graphics:
    9800GT,9600GT,GT520,GT430,GT460,GT620
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Classic, LC, Power Mac, Quadra
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Thanks all great guys to help us........
    I clean my HDD and do it again , Now my Mac seem to be normal .
    I reinstall all system,multibeast once and restart,updatehelper install and restart,10.6.8 combo update(v1.1) finished and restart,multibeast again,restart and finished....
    But this time I put iBoot 3.1.0,not 3.1.1,user dsdt F4,audio with non-dsdt 889(It's okey this time),realtek driver okey this time(no lnx...).
    I try auto dsdt,but I can't fix it,so I back to multibeast,I put 4GB*4 all time,when iBoot in Mac,It show 4gb ram,When I boot in normal step,it show all,So I think I can put rams on board,I brought a 3 hdds hot swap box(with independ power botton),I can shot down computer and off my win7 hdd and on Mac hdd then power on , so I keep 2 system clean and independ to other, put 1 hdd for data exchange,Now I try to make my onboard raid partition for mac .
    My install finally stop in 10.6.8,wait for apple's install dvd for 10.7.X.
     
  9. WildEagle

    WildEagle

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Mobo:
    z68x-ud3h-b3
    CPU:
    i7-2600k
    Graphics:
    HD300
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 6, 2011 #29
    WildEagle

    WildEagle

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Mobo:
    z68x-ud3h-b3
    CPU:
    i7-2600k
    Graphics:
    HD300
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Where is post installtion folder

    I am trying too install Snow Leopard. Did all steps except last one. Cannot find post installation folder. Where do I get it?
     
  10. radik4506

    radik4506

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2011
    Messages:
    25
    Mobo:
    Mountain Lion 10.8.1
    CPU:
    i7 2600K
    Graphics:
    Sapphire ATI HD 6870
    Mac:
    Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Sep 7, 2011 #30
    radik4506

    radik4506

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2011
    Messages:
    25
    Mobo:
    Mountain Lion 10.8.1
    CPU:
    i7 2600K
    Graphics:
    Sapphire ATI HD 6870
    Mac:
    Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Could you make a guide (please in detale i new in Hack) I have simmilar cofiguration and i planning run lion for adobe and final cut I also bought OCZ vertix 3- 120 gb
     

Share This Page