GA-P55-USB3 Rev. 2 Audio and Ethernet issues

Discussion in 'General Help' started by Asherlc, Dec 3, 2010.

  1. Asherlc

    Asherlc

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Mobo:
    Not sure
    CPU:
    Intel34
    Graphics:
    Not sure34
    Dec 3, 2010 at 5:59 AM #1
    Asherlc

    Asherlc

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Mobo:
    Not sure
    CPU:
    Intel34
    Graphics:
    Not sure34
    Hi all,

    I am trying to get my hackintosh to pipe out some audio. I have tried nearly every combination, and gotten no luck. Sometimes the audio is extremely fuzzy, but most of the time the system just registers no audio inputs. As per one forum post, I deleted a S/L/E kext called AudioAUUC. I don't know if that's relevant for moving forward. I installed using EasyBeast also, but have since obviously added and removed various audio kexts several times over (including various realtek kexts and versions of VooDooHD).

    I have tried reading through many threads on the subject both new and old, but have not found a definitive answer. Has this issue been resolved, or do I need to wait for some new version of MultiBeast? I built this computer to be my audio workstation, so this is a large issue for me.

    I'm also having problems getting my ethernet to work (it works on some reboots but not others). I have tried several different kexts for this as well, but I'm hoping a solution has been found that I haven't come across. This is less of a priority, as I can browse the internet on my laptop and I have a wifi card coming.

    Thanks for the help! I'm very happy I've gotten it to boot successfully consistently (even if I get some EBIOS issues on boot, but that's for another day).
     
  2. laguna1212

    laguna1212

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte p55-USB3
    CPU:
    iCore 5
    Graphics:
    ATI 5770
    Dec 3, 2010 at 9:25 AM #2
    laguna1212

    laguna1212

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte p55-USB3
    CPU:
    iCore 5
    Graphics:
    ATI 5770
    Hey Asheric,

    We have the same board and I am using these kexts which work great. Really, no issues that I'm aware of.

    Audio - viewtopic.php?f=16&t=4632

    Network - viewtopic.php?f=3&t=5828

    Let me know if you have any questions.
     
  3. Asherlc

    Asherlc

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Mobo:
    Not sure
    CPU:
    Intel34
    Graphics:
    Not sure34
    Dec 3, 2010 at 8:55 PM #3
    Asherlc

    Asherlc

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Mobo:
    Not sure
    CPU:
    Intel34
    Graphics:
    Not sure34
    The ethernet is fixed now - thank you!

    However, I am still having issues with the sound. The system now recognizes Line-Out (Green Rear), Headphones (Green Front), SPID-out (Orange Rear) and SPDIF-out (CD). It also recognizes several inputs.

    However, when I plug my headphones into the front green port, I don't hear anything. When I plug them into the back green port, I get sound, but it is oddly quiet - not unuseable, but nothing like the volume on my macbook. I assume this has something to do with line out vs headphone levels, so I assume the problem is just that I am using headphones for what should go to an amplifier, thus I need to fix my front ports.

    Am I doing something wrong, or maybe I installed the front ports incorrectly? This was my first time building a computer, and the case I bought came with very sparse directions.

    Thanks again!
     
  4. shinew

    shinew

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010
    Messages:
    112
    Mobo:
    GA-Z87X-UD5 TH
    CPU:
    Core i7-4790K @4.6Ghz
    Graphics:
    MSI GTX 760 2GB 1084Mhz
    Mac:
    MacBook
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Dec 4, 2010 at 6:05 AM #4
    shinew

    shinew

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010
    Messages:
    112
    Mobo:
    GA-Z87X-UD5 TH
    CPU:
    Core i7-4790K @4.6Ghz
    Graphics:
    MSI GTX 760 2GB 1084Mhz
    Mac:
    MacBook
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    If you're using F8 BIOS, you can just copy my DSDT and follow the Sound section in my system built link from my signature to make it work.
     

    Attached Files:

    • IMAG0594.jpg  (613.7 KB, 38 views)
  5. al r

    al r

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Jan 22, 2011 at 7:54 PM #5
    al r

    al r

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    I am not seeing " Headphones (Green Front)" device as an option in Sound Preferences->Output.

    I am using the Realtek ALCxx audio enabler kext from Multibeast. I also elected the iMAC 11,1 system definition.

    Audio works great to line out, but I really would like the option to switch to headphones.

    I tried re-running Multibeast with VoodooHDA 0.2.72 kext but this caused a kernel panic.

    Anyone have any suggestions?
     
  6. trwoolley

    trwoolley

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2010
    Messages:
    162
    Jan 22, 2011 at 10:48 PM #6
    trwoolley

    trwoolley

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2010
    Messages:
    162
    If you used MultiBeast 3.10 with the latest Unified Realtek Onboard Audio Solution ALCxxHDA it will list "Internal Speakers" if you have a rear green line output connected. Only when you plug in front headphones will that change to "Headphones" and the rear green line output will be disabled.
     
  7. al r

    al r

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Jan 24, 2011 at 7:59 PM #7
    al r

    al r

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    I see one output that switches based upon the rear audio output state:
    - sound shows line output when rear audio is connected
    - sound shows headphone when rear audio is disconnected

    Connecting or disconnecting front panel audio headphone jack is no impact on the toggling of line out/headphone.

    Anyone have any ideas?
     
  8. Going Bald

    Going Bald Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    20,052
    Mobo:
    GA-X58A-UD7 Rev.1 BIOS F7
    CPU:
    i7-920
    Graphics:
    Sapphire HD5770
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    iMac
    Jan 24, 2011 at 8:08 PM #8
    Going Bald

    Going Bald Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    20,052
    Mobo:
    GA-X58A-UD7 Rev.1 BIOS F7
    CPU:
    i7-920
    Graphics:
    Sapphire HD5770
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    iMac
    The current version of the ALC8xxx kext in MultiBeast does not support front & rear switching at this time - macman has said it will be in next rev. In the meantime, if you want front panel headphone jack to work properly, unplug back speakers, plug headphones in front panel and select headphones in preferences->audio
     
  9. MacMan

    MacMan Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,517
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
    CPU:
    Core i7-3770K
    Graphics:
    GTX 670
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 24, 2011 at 8:53 PM #9
    MacMan

    MacMan Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,517
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
    CPU:
    Core i7-3770K
    Graphics:
    GTX 670
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    The current version of the ALC8xxx kext in MultiBeast does not support front & rear switching at this time - macman has said it will be in next rev. In the meantime, if you want front panel headphone jack to work properly, unplug back speakers, plug headphones in front panel and select headphones in preferences->audio[/quote:1q631rb1]
    The version of ALC8xx in MultiBeast 3.1.0 supports front headphone overriding rear green line out.
     
  10. trwoolley

    trwoolley

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2010
    Messages:
    162
    Jan 24, 2011 at 9:52 PM #10
    trwoolley

    trwoolley

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2010
    Messages:
    162
    Yes, and it works very well on both of my builds just as MacMan describes. When the rear green line out is connected it is listed as "Internal Speaker" both in System Preferences/Sound and in the drop down from the Menu Bar. When you plug in front line out headphones the "Internal Speaker" listing automatically changes to "Headphones" and the rear output is disabled. Plugging in the headphones instantly provides sound to the headphones without any need to change other settings.

    Thank you, MacMan!
     

Share This Page