GA P55 UD2 10.6.3 (USB) Sleep Fix via DSDT

Discussion in 'DSDT' started by humph, Apr 3, 2010.

  1. winstonace

    winstonace

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    76
    Apr 4, 2010 #11
    winstonace

    winstonace

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    76

    have you checked that all the power options in energy saver (under system preferences) are ticked?
     
  2. tonymacx86

    tonymacx86 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    7,843
    Mobo:
    GA-Z170X-UD5-TH
    CPU:
    Core i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    HD 530 / GT 740
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Apple, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Apr 4, 2010 #12
    tonymacx86

    tonymacx86 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    7,843
    Mobo:
    GA-Z170X-UD5-TH
    CPU:
    Core i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    HD 530 / GT 740
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Apple, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I'm pretty sure the only difference in 1.0 vs.1.1 is this feature:

    Meet European Union EuP(Energy-using Products) requirement

    And the bios version- is the exact same link- must be some kind of red-tape in the EU where they need to actually differentiate. :p

    So- we're all using the same hardware I'm pretty sure. :thumbup:
     
  3. humph

    humph

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    931
    Apr 4, 2010 #13
    humph

    humph

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    931
    Interesting. Will re-check when back home and post if memory not correct:
    I think from memory, the devices are showing under EHC1/2 controller.

    Didn't think it made a lot of difference which physical connection is used (am not using FP header anyway) as don't all PHY ports get the ability to use USB 2.0 or USB1.0/1/1?

    From Intel spec:
    "The PCH contains two Enhanced Host Controller Interface (EHCI) host controllers which support up to fourteen USB 2.0 high-speed root ports. USB 2.0 allows data transfers up to 480 Mb/s. USB 2.0 based Debug Port is also implemented in the PCH."

    As FatShenanigans said above, why bother with all the port sections (although I didn't remove them)..
     
  4. FatShenanigans

    FatShenanigans

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    134
    Apr 4, 2010 #14
    FatShenanigans

    FatShenanigans

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    134
    Right - it's not in the DSDT but in another ACPI table that's referenced by the DSDT table.

    Easily? Right on. Tony, can you send Winstonace your DSDT collection (from your board alone) that can fix what we've been working on? I'm all ears :D
     
  5. Lnx2Mac

    Lnx2Mac

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2,329
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-P55M-UD4
    CPU:
    i7-860
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GV-N98TSL-1GI Silent Cell
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Apr 4, 2010 #15
    Lnx2Mac

    Lnx2Mac

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2,329
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-P55M-UD4
    CPU:
    i7-860
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GV-N98TSL-1GI Silent Cell
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Originally, "Start up automatically..." wasn't checked...
    If I check it, after sleep, my rig won't wake-up (blinking HDD LED & blinking "Phase LEDs" on board)... Only way to get out of it is unplug ! o_O

    I unchecked "Start up automatically..." and now I can put it to sleep, and on wake I get the previous behavior (full reboot). :banghead:
     
  6. winstonace

    winstonace

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    76
    Apr 4, 2010 #16
    winstonace

    winstonace

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    76
    I attached in my previous post a dsdt of MACPRO 4,1
    it has UHC part right in it, not a reference as you mentioned.

    regarding the hub?
    as I said, it's very easy to have two hubs of EHCI just as IMAC
    just replace your uhc/EHC part with this


    Code (Text):

                Device (UHC1)
                {
                    Name (_ADR, 0x001D0000)
                }

                Device (UHC2)
                {
                    Name (_ADR, 0x001D0001)
                 }

                Device (UHC3)
                {
                    Name (_ADR, 0x001D0002)
                }

                Device (UHC4)
                {
                    Name (_ADR, 0x001D0003)
                }

                Device (UHC5)              
                {
                    Name (_ADR, 0x001A0000)
                }

                Device (UHC6)
                {
                    Name (_ADR, 0x001A0001)
                }

                Device (UHC7)          

                {
                    Name (_ADR, 0x001A0002)
                 }

                Device (EHC1)
                {
                    Name (_ADR, 0x001D0007)
                }

                Device (EHC2)
                {
                    Name (_ADR, 0x001A0007)
               }
    no need for any device id and aapl stuff
    everything is working right OOTB (including sleep and wake)
    (that's true for the SATA too)
    i'll post some ss when i'll get home later today.

    I have to add that your arrogance is completly unnecessary
    especially when it's not back up by knowledge...
     
  7. tonymacx86

    tonymacx86 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    7,843
    Mobo:
    GA-Z170X-UD5-TH
    CPU:
    Core i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    HD 530 / GT 740
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Apple, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Apr 4, 2010 #17
    tonymacx86

    tonymacx86 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    7,843
    Mobo:
    GA-Z170X-UD5-TH
    CPU:
    Core i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    HD 530 / GT 740
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Apple, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Thanks for the info Winstonace- I'll test today and report back. Would be great to get this all solved. FS and I have been testing stuff back and forth. The only thing working for me right now are my original edits of the DSDT, which give me full USB support- but when waking from sleep, have to re-plug.

    Also, I've noticed that if you wake from sleep with power button, there are no issues whatsoever. :eek:
     
  8. FatShenanigans

    FatShenanigans

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    134
    Apr 4, 2010 #18
    FatShenanigans

    FatShenanigans

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    134

    I don't understand why you are so quick to judge or assume. You assume that I was being arrogant. Is it because I pointed out something to you about the iMac? A fact is a fact and it is what it is, no more no less. I didn't say it to contradict you if that's how you read it. if you know how much time I've spent working with Tony trying to solve this problem, you might think twice and give me the benefit of the doubt in that I'm being sincere in that I'd love a new point of view, read: your help. You also assume that I don't know what's going on. I've seen that version of what you've posted long ago. Whether or not it will work Tony will be the one to say since it's his UD2 that's having the problem.

    So I just want to know how to fix something, not prove something. Why am I even explaining this?

    Back to topic - Tony, on that last DSDT I I sent you, change the 0x03 to a 0x02 in the following under the PCI0 header:

    Method (_S3D, 0, NotSerialized)
    {
    Return (0x03)
    }

    to

    Method (_S3D, 0, NotSerialized)
    {
    Return (0x02)
    }

    Silly mistake on my part that might make all the difference in the last file.
     
  9. humph

    humph

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    931
    Apr 4, 2010 #19
    humph

    humph

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    931
    Well, works OK for me inc wakeup by kb button press, other than same issue I had before with my DSDT above; namely need to still tick the "Start up automatically after power failure" in Energy Saver. (And not supporting USB1.0 device).

    So something still screwy going on with sleep, elsewhere..
     

Share This Page