Flashing BIOS on GA-P55M-UD2

Discussion in 'General Help' started by ER800, Jan 13, 2010.

  1. ER800

    ER800

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Mobo:
    10.8.3
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7
    Graphics:
    GIGABYTE ATI 5770
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 13, 2010 at 4:31 AM #1
    ER800

    ER800

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Mobo:
    10.8.3
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7
    Graphics:
    GIGABYTE ATI 5770
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Hi Tony!

    Firts of all thank-you for you fantastic guide and wish that the forum "Live long and Prosper" :D

    So here is my question:
    I installed Snow Leopard with your guide:
    (Install OS X Snow Leopard Directly from Retail DVD Using Chameleon Boot CD for P55 Motherboards)

    But I did not flash my bios (was a little bit scared :?)

    So I am still running under version F4.

    Should I update to F5? Will there be some perks?

    ER800
    CORE i5 - 10.6.2 - VANILLA - SNOW LEOPARD RETAIL - GA-P55M-UD2 - GEFORCE 9400 GT
     
  2. auntyjamima

    auntyjamima

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    111
    Jan 13, 2010 at 6:03 AM #2
    auntyjamima

    auntyjamima

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    111
    I was in the same boat as you a while ago and I thought I wouldn't bother flashing but then I started having USB problems. You might want to flash but then again whatever works.
     
  3. Benski

    Benski

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Mobo:
    17" Macbook Pro
    CPU:
    2.8 Dual Core i7
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GeForce GT 330M 512 MB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Jan 13, 2010 at 7:15 AM #3
    Benski

    Benski

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Mobo:
    17" Macbook Pro
    CPU:
    2.8 Dual Core i7
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GeForce GT 330M 512 MB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    I have a GA-P55M-UD2 rev 1 running F6 bios firmware. I get occasional kernal panics. Does everyone else w/ a GA-P55-UD2 get occasional kernel panics, or should I change my bios firmware? I think rev. 1 boards support F6, but maybe it's only 1.1 that supports F6... any suggestions?
     
  4. auntyjamima

    auntyjamima

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    111
    Jan 13, 2010 at 4:09 PM #4
    auntyjamima

    auntyjamima

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    111
    F6 is only for the rev 1.1 boards. Unless you have 1.1, I would recommend switching to F5. It has been working great for me.
     
  5. gregord

    gregord

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Jan 13, 2010 at 4:18 PM #5
    gregord

    gregord

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    21
  6. tonymacx86

    tonymacx86 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    7,987
    Mobo:
    GA-Z170X-UD5-TH
    CPU:
    Core i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    HD 530 / GT 740
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Apple, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 13, 2010 at 4:44 PM #6
    tonymacx86

    tonymacx86 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    7,987
    Mobo:
    GA-Z170X-UD5-TH
    CPU:
    Core i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    HD 530 / GT 740
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Apple, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I'm on version F5 as well. My board is 1.0. :D
     
  7. Wingus

    Wingus

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Jan 13, 2010 at 7:30 PM #7
    Wingus

    Wingus

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Is there a way to distinguish Rev 1.0 board from Rev 1.1 boards, aside from looking at the markings on the board?

    I noticed my UD2 has an ALC887 sound controller instead of an ALC888b. I wonder if that means I have a rev 1.1?
     
  8. Benski

    Benski

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Mobo:
    17" Macbook Pro
    CPU:
    2.8 Dual Core i7
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GeForce GT 330M 512 MB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Jan 13, 2010 at 7:49 PM #8
    Benski

    Benski

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Mobo:
    17" Macbook Pro
    CPU:
    2.8 Dual Core i7
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GeForce GT 330M 512 MB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    You can look on the motherboard, lower left corner it should say 1.0 or 1.1. Look on page 3-5 of your owners manual, it tells you exactly where to look. I'm going to flash down to F5 and see if that helps me.

    Tony and others with a ud2 board - do you get kernel panics periodically or are you 100% stable?
     
  9. sakasune

    sakasune

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-P55M-UD2
    CPU:
    Core i5-750
    Graphics:
    GeForce 9400 GT
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Jan 13, 2010 at 8:24 PM #9
    sakasune

    sakasune

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-P55M-UD2
    CPU:
    Core i5-750
    Graphics:
    GeForce 9400 GT
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    I have been getting somewhat random kernel panics too. I flashed the BIOS about a month ago, I think to F5. Not sure if I have a 1.0 or 1.1 board, I can check when I get home.

    Most of my KPs seem related to USB - at first it seemed related to mouse clicks (open a DMG from a stack, clicking a button in an app, etc). Lately it's either when I plug in or eject a USB drive (flash or enclosure) and when I hit the tab key on a form in Firefox - I think it's only when tabbing from username to password, I can't remember it happening on any other form (it also KP'd once when I clicked in the password field instead of tabbing).

    Performing the same action immediately after a reboot doesn't cause a KP, it almost seems to be after the machine has been on a few hours (counting time while sleeping too). I'm using tony's DSDT with the SpeedStep enabled - I have been thinking of trying a different one. Tony said he heard of the USB ports near the PS/2 ports causing people issues, but I've tried almost all of them with no difference.

    My hardware is what tony mentioned in one of his guides - Core i5 CPU, UD2 board, GSkill RAM, and the Sparkle nVidia GeForce 9400 GT card. I accidentally bought an IDE optical drive (darn last minute special).
     
  10. thelostswede

    thelostswede

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,951
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H
    CPU:
    Core i7-3770K @4.2-4.4GHz
    Graphics:
    Galaxy GeForce GTX 660 Ti
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Jan 13, 2010 at 8:50 PM #10
    thelostswede

    thelostswede

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,951
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H
    CPU:
    Core i7-3770K @4.2-4.4GHz
    Graphics:
    Galaxy GeForce GTX 660 Ti
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Gigabyte's Windows based BIOS flash utility will tell you which board version you have, but you have to select update BIOS from Gigabyte server first and then select a server and press ok before it'll show up (stupid, yes I know).
     

Share This Page