Enter BIOS with mac keyboard? Can't access boot menu!

Discussion in 'Mountain Lion Desktop Support' started by fortozs, Aug 31, 2013.

  1. fortozs

    fortozs

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2013
    Messages:
    49
    Mobo:
    GIGABYTE GA-Z77-DS3H
    CPU:
    i3-3245
    Graphics:
    PNY GTX 650 1GB
    Aug 31, 2013 #1
    fortozs

    fortozs

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2013
    Messages:
    49
    Mobo:
    GIGABYTE GA-Z77-DS3H
    CPU:
    i3-3245
    Graphics:
    PNY GTX 650 1GB
    Hi, I just finished building my first computer! I have the Gigabyte Z77-DS3H MOBO. I have a Mac USB keyboard and mouse I have tried to enter boot menu from both the front and rear USB ports. The only message I get is

    It repeats the message if I press a key, so I know it senses my keyboard. I'm hoping maybe its a mac/pc keyboard difference. Did I do something wrong with my build?!
     
  2. aaron97

    aaron97

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Messages:
    614
    Mobo:
    UD5H
    CPU:
    3770k OC to 4.8ghz EVO 212
    Graphics:
    GTX 760 SLI
    Aug 31, 2013 #2
    aaron97

    aaron97

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Messages:
    614
    Mobo:
    UD5H
    CPU:
    3770k OC to 4.8ghz EVO 212
    Graphics:
    GTX 760 SLI
    You have to press the small delete key on the boot screen splash logo. Its to the right of the key above the enter key.
     
  3. fortozs

    fortozs

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2013
    Messages:
    49
    Mobo:
    GIGABYTE GA-Z77-DS3H
    CPU:
    i3-3245
    Graphics:
    PNY GTX 650 1GB
    Aug 31, 2013 #3
    fortozs

    fortozs

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2013
    Messages:
    49
    Mobo:
    GIGABYTE GA-Z77-DS3H
    CPU:
    i3-3245
    Graphics:
    PNY GTX 650 1GB
    Thanks for the quick reply. I tried what you said. Still no love though. Can I at least assume my processor and MOBO are working if I get to that screen though, or should I still be worrying?
     
  4. aaron97

    aaron97

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Messages:
    614
    Mobo:
    UD5H
    CPU:
    3770k OC to 4.8ghz EVO 212
    Graphics:
    GTX 760 SLI
    Aug 31, 2013 #4
    aaron97

    aaron97

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Messages:
    614
    Mobo:
    UD5H
    CPU:
    3770k OC to 4.8ghz EVO 212
    Graphics:
    GTX 760 SLI
    Yes, obviously the only problem is with the keyboard. If you got to the bios everything is fine. Are you sure your pressing the right key? After restarting the computer you have to keep pounding on it and it will take you to the bios. Try a different keyboard if that doesn't work (it should work though).
     
  5. fortozs

    fortozs

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2013
    Messages:
    49
    Mobo:
    GIGABYTE GA-Z77-DS3H
    CPU:
    i3-3245
    Graphics:
    PNY GTX 650 1GB
    Aug 31, 2013 #5
    fortozs

    fortozs

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2013
    Messages:
    49
    Mobo:
    GIGABYTE GA-Z77-DS3H
    CPU:
    i3-3245
    Graphics:
    PNY GTX 650 1GB
    OK. I resolved the issue. I wasn't able to enter the BIOS until I changed televisions. For what ever reason my old 1080i rear projection wasn't showing the BIOS. I found that in another thread that suggested changing monitors. Just installed. Thanks for the help!
     

Share This Page