Dual monitors not working on 660 Ti

Discussion in 'Graphics' started by film_guy01, Nov 14, 2012.

  1. film_guy01

    film_guy01

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Mobo:
    Intel
    CPU:
    4.0
    Graphics:
    660ti
    Nov 14, 2012 #1
    film_guy01

    film_guy01

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Mobo:
    Intel
    CPU:
    4.0
    Graphics:
    660ti
    So I have my hackintosh all up and running now (yay!!!!)

    This is my setup:
    A Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H Motherboard
    An Nvidia 660Ti Graphics card
    An Intel i5 3570K CPU

    The problem is I can't get dual monitors to work on my 660 Ti card.
    I installed the NVIDIA Fermi >2GB Open CL patch
    I installed the NVIDIA 670/680/690 Support patch
    I have installed 10.8.2

    But I still can't get a second monitor plugged into my graphics card to come on.
    If I just have my HDMI cord attached and boot everything boots fine. If I plug in the HDMI and the DVI it just boots to a white screen on the HDMI side and does nothing on the DVI side.

    I have my bios display settings set to "peg" (vs. IGFX or PCI)

    What am I doing wrong? Have other people gotten dual monitor support working with the card?
    Please advise.

    Thanks!!

    P.S. I'm loving this hackintosh business so far!
     
  2. saxcrane

    saxcrane

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Mobo:
    mac 10.8
    CPU:
    i3770
    Graphics:
    n660Ti
    Nov 14, 2012 #2
    saxcrane

    saxcrane

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Mobo:
    mac 10.8
    CPU:
    i3770
    Graphics:
    n660Ti
    same problem here
    almost the same build as yours
    but i use z77x-up5-th
    if i use only one monitor,everything smooth
    once i tried to plug-in my second monitor.....sign
    i use dvi-hdmi as my main monitor,a vga-vga to dvi as the second
    and there is nothing there but grey after boot.....still trying and waiting for answers....

    many thank
     
  3. Lorash

    Lorash

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Mobo:
    10.8.2
    CPU:
    Intel i5 3750K
    Graphics:
    Asus DCIIO GeForce GTX 660 Ti
    Nov 16, 2012 #3
    Lorash

    Lorash

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Mobo:
    10.8.2
    CPU:
    Intel i5 3750K
    Graphics:
    Asus DCIIO GeForce GTX 660 Ti
    My dual monitors are working perfectly.

    I think you have to install the nVidia drivers, which have been posted on this site a few weeks ago.
     
  4. ZenGiga

    ZenGiga

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2011
    Messages:
    50
    Mobo:
    GA-ep45-ds3l
    CPU:
    Q6600 2.4ghz
    Graphics:
    msi gtx 660 ti 2GB
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Nov 16, 2012 #4
    ZenGiga

    ZenGiga

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2011
    Messages:
    50
    Mobo:
    GA-ep45-ds3l
    CPU:
    Q6600 2.4ghz
    Graphics:
    msi gtx 660 ti 2GB
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    My MSI GTX 660 ti has always done two monitors fine, but from the two DVI ports, never tried the HDMI.

    Have you done anything specific for the HDMI? I know you need dsdt edits to get HDMI audio working.
     
  5. Lorash

    Lorash

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Mobo:
    10.8.2
    CPU:
    Intel i5 3750K
    Graphics:
    Asus DCIIO GeForce GTX 660 Ti
    Nov 16, 2012 #5
    Lorash

    Lorash

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Mobo:
    10.8.2
    CPU:
    Intel i5 3750K
    Graphics:
    Asus DCIIO GeForce GTX 660 Ti
    At the moment I do not use HDMI Audio, but an additional cable. For the future I certainly want to get rid of that. :)

    Anyway, HDMI in combination with a DVI Port works!
     
  6. film_guy01

    film_guy01

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Mobo:
    Intel
    CPU:
    4.0
    Graphics:
    660ti
    Nov 16, 2012 #6
    film_guy01

    film_guy01

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Mobo:
    Intel
    CPU:
    4.0
    Graphics:
    660ti
    Well that's very strange then. Because as I mentioned in my original post I have installed the nvidia drivers but dual monitors still don't work. Bummer.
     
  7. Lorash

    Lorash

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Mobo:
    10.8.2
    CPU:
    Intel i5 3750K
    Graphics:
    Asus DCIIO GeForce GTX 660 Ti
    Nov 16, 2012 #7
    Lorash

    Lorash

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Mobo:
    10.8.2
    CPU:
    Intel i5 3750K
    Graphics:
    Asus DCIIO GeForce GTX 660 Ti
  8. targ3t

    targ3t

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Mobo:
    i7
    CPU:
    3770k
    Graphics:
    gb nvidia 660 ti
    Jan 31, 2013 #8
    targ3t

    targ3t

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Mobo:
    i7
    CPU:
    3770k
    Graphics:
    gb nvidia 660 ti
    same config here!

    i7 3370k
    mobo GA Z77 UP5 TH
    16gb ram
    GA nvidia 660ti

    istalled nvidia drivers, no results

    got to tweak something elese?

    thanks!
     
  9. Solidww

    Solidww

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,100
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 31, 2013 #9
    Solidww

    Solidww

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,100
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Did you pick GraphicsEnabler=no for the card? Also, I don't think you needed that patch. I believe it's for cards with more then 2GB of RAM. I could be mistaken.
     
  10. targ3t

    targ3t

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Mobo:
    i7
    CPU:
    3770k
    Graphics:
    gb nvidia 660 ti
    Jan 31, 2013 #10
    targ3t

    targ3t

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Mobo:
    i7
    CPU:
    3770k
    Graphics:
    gb nvidia 660 ti

Share This Page