Dual boot MT LION/Windows 8

Discussion in 'Mountain Lion Desktop Support' started by yogamac129, Aug 20, 2012.

  1. yogamac129

    yogamac129

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Mobo:
    HACkINtosH
    CPU:
    i7 3770K
    Graphics:
    GTX 680
    Aug 20, 2012 #1
    yogamac129

    yogamac129

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Mobo:
    HACkINtosH
    CPU:
    i7 3770K
    Graphics:
    GTX 680
    i have successfully build my mackintosh. i also installed windows 8 on different hdd. windows 8 showed up on the chameleon boot, but everytime i chose to boot windows 8, i get bcd error. is there anyway i can make it work?

    right now i always change the boot priority to boot to windows 8.
     
  2. Hajolo

    Hajolo

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77X-UD5H
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-3770K Quad-Core Processor 3.5 GHz 6 MB Cache
    Graphics:
    MSI N560GTX-Ti 448 Twin Frozer III PE/OC
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Aug 21, 2012 #2
    Hajolo

    Hajolo

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77X-UD5H
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-3770K Quad-Core Processor 3.5 GHz 6 MB Cache
    Graphics:
    MSI N560GTX-Ti 448 Twin Frozer III PE/OC
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Did you find a solution to your problem? I have the same issue when trying to get dual booting working. Also everytime I manually boot into Win 8 my BIOS boot order gets reordered by the win 8 boot loader...
     
  3. smolderas

    smolderas

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Messages:
    320
    Mobo:
    z68x-ud5-b3
    CPU:
    i7 2600k@4,4ghz
    Graphics:
    SLI zotac geforce 570 amp!
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Aug 21, 2012 #3
    smolderas

    smolderas

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Messages:
    320
    Mobo:
    z68x-ud5-b3
    CPU:
    i7 2600k@4,4ghz
    Graphics:
    SLI zotac geforce 570 amp!
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Is Windows 8 released already, or are you talking about the pirated/leaked version??????!!!
     
  4. Asus-Freak

    Asus-Freak

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    2,638
    Mobo:
    GA-X99M-Gaming 5
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-5930K
    Graphics:
    MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Aug 21, 2012 #4
    Asus-Freak

    Asus-Freak

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    2,638
    Mobo:
    GA-X99M-Gaming 5
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-5930K
    Graphics:
    MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    The chameleon boot menu probably display a partition called System Reserved, chose it to boot to Windoze.
     
  5. Hajolo

    Hajolo

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77X-UD5H
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-3770K Quad-Core Processor 3.5 GHz 6 MB Cache
    Graphics:
    MSI N560GTX-Ti 448 Twin Frozer III PE/OC
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Aug 21, 2012 #5
    Hajolo

    Hajolo

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77X-UD5H
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-3770K Quad-Core Processor 3.5 GHz 6 MB Cache
    Graphics:
    MSI N560GTX-Ti 448 Twin Frozer III PE/OC
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Chimera is not displaying System Reserved partition, guess I'll have to try to install Win 8 without System Reserved Partition... (I know it's possible in WIN 7, don't know about win8).
     
  6. Going Bald

    Going Bald Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    19,413
    Mobo:
    GA-X58A-UD7 Rev.1 BIOS F7
    CPU:
    i7-920
    Graphics:
    Sapphire HD5770
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    iMac
    Aug 21, 2012 #6
    Going Bald

    Going Bald Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    19,413
    Mobo:
    GA-X58A-UD7 Rev.1 BIOS F7
    CPU:
    i7-920
    Graphics:
    Sapphire HD5770
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    iMac
    If you installed Win8 to an unformatted drive with a UEFI BIOS mobo, the installer might have installed Win8 UEFI version on GUID partition tables. To check, open disk manager and look at your drive partitions. If you see a 100Mb partition labeled System and a 128Mb partition labeled MSR, then that is what happened. These are hidden EFI partitions.

    Chameleon/Chimera can't see the EFI partition where the boot files are, so it can't boot Win8.

    Installing on a pre-formatted HDD eliminates the System Reserved partition in Win7, not sure about Win8, but you can try. To prevent Win8 installer from installing UEFI on a GUID formatted HDD, hit the function key for your board at BIOS post to allow you to choose your boot device. You will see your DVD-RW with the Win8 DVD twice (or the USB drive if you are using that method) - once as a straight device and once as an EFI device. Select the plain one, not the EFI one to boot from.
     
  7. Hajolo

    Hajolo

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77X-UD5H
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-3770K Quad-Core Processor 3.5 GHz 6 MB Cache
    Graphics:
    MSI N560GTX-Ti 448 Twin Frozer III PE/OC
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Aug 21, 2012 #7
    Hajolo

    Hajolo

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77X-UD5H
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-3770K Quad-Core Processor 3.5 GHz 6 MB Cache
    Graphics:
    MSI N560GTX-Ti 448 Twin Frozer III PE/OC
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Finally managed it!

    - Unplugged all my discs that wasn't supposed to hold the Win 8 installation​
    - Entered the cmd prompt at the first win 8 installation screen (choosing language etc.) through shift+F10 and then:​
    Select disc 0
    Clean
    create partition primary size=xxx
    (xxx=whatever you disc size is or how much size you want to use of your disc)
    Exit
    - I then went with advanced installation to make sure that no extra partitions had been created (system reserved). Here I also had another chance to format and resize the partition I just created.​
    - Completed Win 8 installation
    - Plugged in my other discs
    - Restored boot order in BIOS to make the Chimera disk have highest prio
    - Booted OSX Mountain Lion
    - Reinstalled Chimera

    Voila!​
     
  8. Eerie

    Eerie

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Mobo:
    Mountain Lion
    CPU:
    2.94 GHz Intel Core i7
    Graphics:
    GeForce 9800 GTX 512MB
    Aug 22, 2012 #8
    Eerie

    Eerie

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Mobo:
    Mountain Lion
    CPU:
    2.94 GHz Intel Core i7
    Graphics:
    GeForce 9800 GTX 512MB
    @Hajolo,

    Thanks it worked for me too!!!
    I have been trying for days with no luck until I found your post. :)
     
  9. Hajolo

    Hajolo

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77X-UD5H
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-3770K Quad-Core Processor 3.5 GHz 6 MB Cache
    Graphics:
    MSI N560GTX-Ti 448 Twin Frozer III PE/OC
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Aug 22, 2012 #9
    Hajolo

    Hajolo

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77X-UD5H
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-3770K Quad-Core Processor 3.5 GHz 6 MB Cache
    Graphics:
    MSI N560GTX-Ti 448 Twin Frozer III PE/OC
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Glad to hear!
     
  10. mrhevor

    mrhevor

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Mobo:
    ASUS Z97 Pro
    CPU:
    i7 4970k
    Graphics:
    MSI GTX 970 OC
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Aug 24, 2012 #10
    mrhevor

    mrhevor

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Mobo:
    ASUS Z97 Pro
    CPU:
    i7 4970k
    Graphics:
    MSI GTX 970 OC
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Windows 8 RTM Enterprise edition can be officially downloaded from microsoft site (since August 16th ) in evalutation for developers (90 days trail), what are you saying about piracy?
     

Share This Page