DSDT for Z68MA UEFI Breaks sleep

Discussion in 'DSDT' started by sonicseamus, Sep 11, 2012.

  1. sonicseamus

    sonicseamus

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2012
    Messages:
    614
    Mobo:
    GA-Z68MA-D2H-B3
    CPU:
    i5-2500K
    Graphics:
    HIS 5770
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    iBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 11, 2012 #1
    sonicseamus

    sonicseamus

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2012
    Messages:
    614
    Mobo:
    GA-Z68MA-D2H-B3
    CPU:
    i5-2500K
    Graphics:
    HIS 5770
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    iBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    [Solved] DSDT for Z68MA UEFI Breaks sleep

    Hey everybody. After a lot of troubleshooting, I finally determined that my DSDT is causing my issue of the screen not waking from sleep.

    I have a Z68MA-D2H-B3 that I recently updated to the UEFI BIOS. Everything went fine, but I decided I needed a DSDT for HDMI audio. I extracted one with DSDTSE, and I added HDEF and the HDMI edits with toleda's help. Now, HDMI audio worked, but little did I know, the DSDT was breaking sleep!

    So my question is, is there a way I can edit my DSDT so that sleep works? I really like HDMI audio, but would sacrifice it for working sleep. I have uploaded my edited DSDT, and I can also add an IOReg if that's useful.

    I could really use some help.

    Thanks,

    Seamus

    View attachment DSDT.aml.zip
     
  2. sonicseamus

    sonicseamus

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2012
    Messages:
    614
    Mobo:
    GA-Z68MA-D2H-B3
    CPU:
    i5-2500K
    Graphics:
    HIS 5770
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    iBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 11, 2012 #2
    sonicseamus

    sonicseamus

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2012
    Messages:
    614
    Mobo:
    GA-Z68MA-D2H-B3
    CPU:
    i5-2500K
    Graphics:
    HIS 5770
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    iBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Not sure what you mean by a "pre-edited" one, as there are no DSDTs in the database for UEFI BIOS. The one I attached earlier was simply the vanilla extracted one with HDEF and HDMI edits.

    Anyway, here's a DSDT I just extracted with DSDTSE from soon after bootup (not sure if that makes a difference).

    View attachment dsdt.zip

    Thanks for your help!
     
  3. sonicseamus

    sonicseamus

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2012
    Messages:
    614
    Mobo:
    GA-Z68MA-D2H-B3
    CPU:
    i5-2500K
    Graphics:
    HIS 5770
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    iBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 12, 2012 #3
    sonicseamus

    sonicseamus

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2012
    Messages:
    614
    Mobo:
    GA-Z68MA-D2H-B3
    CPU:
    i5-2500K
    Graphics:
    HIS 5770
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    iBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Okay, this DSDT did the trick!

    Manual sleep/wakeup now works, though autosleep still isn't fully functioning (will test more and report back). I applied HDMI audio edits and now it's working as well with my 5770.

    Thanks so much!

    I attached my current DSDT that contains discrete HDMI audio edits. For those who are using the Mountain Lion Apple HDA alpha audio kexts provided by toleda you will need to change HDEF/layout-id to 0x01, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00.

    View attachment DSDT.aml.zip

    Hope this helps someone.
     
  4. sonicseamus

    sonicseamus

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2012
    Messages:
    614
    Mobo:
    GA-Z68MA-D2H-B3
    CPU:
    i5-2500K
    Graphics:
    HIS 5770
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    iBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 12, 2012 #4
    sonicseamus

    sonicseamus

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2012
    Messages:
    614
    Mobo:
    GA-Z68MA-D2H-B3
    CPU:
    i5-2500K
    Graphics:
    HIS 5770
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    iBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Well after upgrading to my new SSD today (yay!!!!) I tested out the autosleep. It turns out that noimnot is right - it works properly if the timer is set to 10 minutes, but doesn't otherwise. I'm going to test the Darkwake=10 flag that was suggested in this post and will report back. I'm on 10.8.0 for the record.

    EDIT: adding darkwake=10 didn't work; I'm still stuck with the 10 minute timer (which could be worse, I guess).
     
  5. kapla1977

    kapla1977

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Mobo:
    GA-Z68MA-2dh
    CPU:
    i5-3570k
    Graphics:
    Asus 560
    Sep 19, 2012 #5
    kapla1977

    kapla1977

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Mobo:
    GA-Z68MA-2dh
    CPU:
    i5-3570k
    Graphics:
    Asus 560
    Dear SonicSeamus and Noimnot, thank you for the dsdt. It works.

    I used the dsdt as uploaded in post #5. and used my previous applehda Lion 10.7.3 (edited using toleda LION HDMI guide for my Asus nvdia GTX560). the combination allow sound thru HDMI on my Sharp TV. Altho the boot time increased from 15 sec to 22 sec, negligible increase for me.
     
  6. kapla1977

    kapla1977

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Mobo:
    GA-Z68MA-2dh
    CPU:
    i5-3570k
    Graphics:
    Asus 560
    Sep 20, 2012 #6
    kapla1977

    kapla1977

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Mobo:
    GA-Z68MA-2dh
    CPU:
    i5-3570k
    Graphics:
    Asus 560
    TQ Noimnot. Based on my earlier combination of dsdt and applehda, I had successfully activate the sound thru HDMI, though the kext used is legacy one and slightly longer time to boot.

    I am willing to try your dsdt and multibeast applehda kext, but wanna check whether the uploaded dsdt contains hdmi edit (sound thru hdmi tv is my focus as HTPC) and will enable sound thru my discrete GP i.e ASUS nvidia GTX560?

    TQ for your effort and attention. Really appreciate it.

    Will try once i am back from office :)
     
  7. sonicseamus

    sonicseamus

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2012
    Messages:
    614
    Mobo:
    GA-Z68MA-D2H-B3
    CPU:
    i5-2500K
    Graphics:
    HIS 5770
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    iBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 20, 2012 #7
    sonicseamus

    sonicseamus

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2012
    Messages:
    614
    Mobo:
    GA-Z68MA-D2H-B3
    CPU:
    i5-2500K
    Graphics:
    HIS 5770
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    iBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    It does have HDMI edits for discrete graphics. I'm not entirely sure whether your NVidia GPU requires extra edits beyond the standard ones for HDMI audio (I have an ATI card). If you try it out and you're still not getting HDMI audio, just use it as a base and follow toleda's super simple guide for NVidia HDMI audio. If you still can't get it, make a post in the HDMI audio forum and he'll help you out.
     
  8. kapla1977

    kapla1977

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Mobo:
    GA-Z68MA-2dh
    CPU:
    i5-3570k
    Graphics:
    Asus 560
    Sep 20, 2012 #8
    kapla1977

    kapla1977

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Mobo:
    GA-Z68MA-2dh
    CPU:
    i5-3570k
    Graphics:
    Asus 560
    Dear Noimnot, tried the attached dsdt on the updated 10.8.2 machine. It activated all the sound options except HDMI. I m reverting back to the earlier combo as i m using discrete graphic card HDMI as primary sound n graphic. Tq for your effort.
     
  9. kapla1977

    kapla1977

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Mobo:
    GA-Z68MA-2dh
    CPU:
    i5-3570k
    Graphics:
    Asus 560
    Sep 20, 2012 #9
    kapla1977

    kapla1977

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Mobo:
    GA-Z68MA-2dh
    CPU:
    i5-3570k
    Graphics:
    Asus 560
    Tq Sonicseamus. Your dsdt as uploaded in post #5 did the trick. I would consider mine as solved as i managed to get the sound thru HDMI from gtx560 already.

    Tq to both of you who are really helpful. :)
     
  10. westwaerts

    westwaerts

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    103
    Mobo:
    10.7.5
    CPU:
    i7 2600k
    Graphics:
    HD5670
    Dec 15, 2012 #10
    westwaerts

    westwaerts

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    103
    Mobo:
    10.7.5
    CPU:
    i7 2600k
    Graphics:
    HD5670
    same board, on bios F10, autosleep works like a charm with darkwake=10

    what smbios def you have ?
     

Share This Page