Clover boot

Discussion in 'HP ProBook' started by nnxwtf, Jan 10, 2013.

  1. nnxwtf

    nnxwtf

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    37
    Mobo:
    4530s
    CPU:
    i5-2430M
    Graphics:
    hd3000
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Jan 10, 2013 #1
    nnxwtf

    nnxwtf

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    37
    Mobo:
    4530s
    CPU:
    i5-2430M
    Graphics:
    hd3000
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Hello everyone:)

    I wish to open topic on Clover Bootloader.
    http://cloverefiboot.sourceforge.net

    I gave few attempts to this bootloader yesterday. I was after fixing iMessage by following later posts on topic iMessage Won't Work page 30 and so on, but it did not go with success. I now get just different error message when trying to login into iMesage.
    But so, I was able to boot with Clover.
    Using BIOS-booting (not UEFI sadly) and removed AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement.kext (got kernel panics on it, otherwise, but so it disabled sleep and maybe something else). System and booting process looked kind of snappier a bit.


    If anyone have tried, how did it go ?
    Did you get UEFI booting to work ?
    What other experiences?

    Thanks.
     
  2. faithie999

    faithie999

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    348
    Mobo:
    MSI H81I
    CPU:
    i3-4170
    Graphics:
    HD4400
    Jan 10, 2013 #2
    faithie999

    faithie999

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    348
    Mobo:
    MSI H81I
    CPU:
    i3-4170
    Graphics:
    HD4400
    i had the same KP when i tried to boot from a clover USB stick (i didn't want to install clover to my HD until i knew it would work).

    did you try reverting to the non-patched-for-mountain lion version of applecpupowermanagement.kext before you removed it altogether? not sure it would make any difference.

    i assume sooner or later the chimera team will come up with a solution so we don't need to switch to clover.
     
  3. shmerek

    shmerek

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte H55 USB3
    CPU:
    i3 3.0Ghz
    Graphics:
    Radeon 5770
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 11, 2013 #3
    shmerek

    shmerek

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte H55 USB3
    CPU:
    i3 3.0Ghz
    Graphics:
    Radeon 5770
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I gave it a go using the guide here http://www.insanelymac.com/forum/topic/285560-imessagemessages-fix-how-to/ but I couldn't get it to boot, kept getting a kernel panic related to the AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement.kext. I tried it with the vanilla version as well but still no luck. I don't know if I am screwing something up with the install but I just couldn't get it working.
     
  4. RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    120,525
    Mobo:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 12, 2013 #4
    RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    120,525
    Mobo:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I played around with it a bit... Some notes:

    - on the Probook, we use a Chimera module to do some EC manipulation at startup. This module resets the fan to factory upon starting Chimera and is very important to keep laptops from overheating, especially in multi-boot environments. At a minimum, I will have to port this module to Clover (no idea how to do that yet). The build process for Clover is quite complex, so figuring out how to add a driver to the process should be interesting (And I thought Chimera/Chameleon was complex).

    - So far, I can't get Clover to boot my Ubuntu 12.04LTS partition, on a restart... only from a cold boot, (not warm boot) even if the restart was from Ubuntu itself.

    - No problem booting Win7-64. Haven't tried Win8 as it is not installed on my laptop.

    - I have it booting my ML partition using BIOS mode Clover (I haven't tried Lion or SL, should be similar). I have not attempted to implement the iMessage fix part of the config.plist, as I was really just trying to get Clover to work. More testing is needed.

    - Clover on the Probook only works in BIOS mode. UEFI mode is a non-starter due to some sort of incompatibility (I think) between HP's UEFI BIOS and the HFSPlus.efi (UEFI driver for HFS+, supposedly extracted from actual Mac BIOS). I also tried running Clover on my desktop, and there it was able to properly show the HFS+ partitions (so Intel's BIOS is probably compatible with HFSPlus.efi). It is possible this could be the case with more than just the Probook, where UEFI implementations don't provide what is needed or are otherwise half-baked.

    - I had to use DropOemSSDT and place my SSDT.aml and patched DSDT.aml into /EFI/ACPI/patched

    - UEFI Clover can recognize both Win7 and Ubuntu partitions but cannot boot them. Bottom line: I can't boot anything with UEFI Clover, but BIOS mode Clover can boot 2 of 3 (and from cold boot 3 of 3).

    - Some of the selections in Clover lead to Chimera on my system (must be loading MBR and executing). There is probably a way to hide these.

    - All my testing was using a USB stick. It is not worth it to risk a stable Chimera setup by messing with your main HDD/SSD.
     
  5. ersterhernd

    ersterhernd

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,188
    Mobo:
    MSI Z77MA-G45
    CPU:
    i7-3770k @ 4.3 GHz
    Graphics:
    PowerColor 6870 mDP
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Jan 13, 2013 #5
    ersterhernd

    ersterhernd

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,188
    Mobo:
    MSI Z77MA-G45
    CPU:
    i7-3770k @ 4.3 GHz
    Graphics:
    PowerColor 6870 mDP
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    I created a USB stick with Clover on it and put my patched DSDT and SSDT in the /EFI/ACPI/patched folder. It fixed iMessage, just as it did on my desktop Hack. Unfortunately upon reboot using the normal bootloader, the iMessage interface shows as inactive again and won't log in properly. On the PC, a normal reboot shows iMessage as logged in and usable.

    Will be interesting to see this develop into a fix for the ProBook.
     
  6. nnxwtf

    nnxwtf

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    37
    Mobo:
    4530s
    CPU:
    i5-2430M
    Graphics:
    hd3000
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Jan 13, 2013 #6
    nnxwtf

    nnxwtf

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    37
    Mobo:
    4530s
    CPU:
    i5-2430M
    Graphics:
    hd3000
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Booting without AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement.kext (just renamed it to "*.kext_") sorted out booting, but that's a no solution for using Clover as a default bootlaoder. Good enough for fixing Apple's Messages, though.

    No, I didn't try using stock AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement.kext, didn't have back then.
    I may I give a go sometime again.


    Yes. Found myself in the same situation in the end.
    But still had to disable AppleIntelCPU*.kext to get it booting with BIOS mode Clover.
    Problem with UEFI is all about HFS+ drivers not being shown. Got few different drivers, but none worked.

    I couldn't even get Messages fixed once, it kept giving me error, that there's nothing wrong, but I have to call somewhere, : D


    Should I call it, maybe?
    Apple will know my number then. : D
     
  7. RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    120,525
    Mobo:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 13, 2013 #7
    RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    120,525
    Mobo:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Your issue with AICPM is probably because you didn't do one or both of:
    - add DropOemSSDT to config.plist
    - copy your SSDT.aml to EFI/ACPI/patched/
     
  8. Beshuta

    Beshuta

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Mobo:
    HP ProBoor 4330s Mac OS X10.8.2 (Clover EFI)
    CPU:
    Intel Core i3 2350m
    Graphics:
    Intel HD3000
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Jan 13, 2013 #8
    Beshuta

    Beshuta

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Mobo:
    HP ProBoor 4330s Mac OS X10.8.2 (Clover EFI)
    CPU:
    Intel Core i3 2350m
    Graphics:
    Intel HD3000
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    I Used Clover! you need too install vanilla AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement.kext! my EFI, with config.plist
    Clover The best Bootloader! Thanks to Slice,Dmazar,Apianti,Pene,STLVNUB,BlackOSx.. and other team!!!!!!
     

    Attached Files:

  9. nnxwtf

    nnxwtf

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    37
    Mobo:
    4530s
    CPU:
    i5-2430M
    Graphics:
    hd3000
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Jan 14, 2013 #9
    nnxwtf

    nnxwtf

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    37
    Mobo:
    4530s
    CPU:
    i5-2430M
    Graphics:
    hd3000
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    yeah, this let me to boot finally,

    using either modified or stock kext.

    in the end, clover has way more better features compared to chimera included in probook installer,
    would definitely switch to it,
    but found myself with boot1: error (none of fixes I googled worked for me), when installing clover on hdd, no probs with usb thou.
    Any thoughts on this little one?
     
  10. jmain

    jmain

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    55
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte z170n Wifi Gaming 5
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5 6600 3.3 Ghz
    Graphics:
    Integrated
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Jan 15, 2013 #10
    jmain

    jmain

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    55
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte z170n Wifi Gaming 5
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5 6600 3.3 Ghz
    Graphics:
    Integrated
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    I am attempting to use Clover on a USB stick. It boots fine (Seems faster to get to desktop then chimera) but shortly after desktop loads it reboots.
    I have my dsts installed in the patched folder. It is a gigabyte p55 USB3 MB.

    Also my onboard sound is not working. I am using the AppleHDA rollback and booting chimera audio works.

    Where should I look to see why the system is restarting?
     

Share This Page