Before installation thoughts.

Discussion in 'Snow Leopard Desktop Support' started by AtlantaMusicGuy, Aug 15, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. AtlantaMusicGuy

    AtlantaMusicGuy

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Mobo:
    windows 8 64-bit
    CPU:
    Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU G465 @ 1.90GHz
    Graphics:
    Intel(R) HD Graphics
    Aug 15, 2013 #1
    AtlantaMusicGuy

    AtlantaMusicGuy

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Mobo:
    windows 8 64-bit
    CPU:
    Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU G465 @ 1.90GHz
    Graphics:
    Intel(R) HD Graphics
    Hi, I am new to all of this, so kinda nervous here. I have an old iMac (end 2007) and a new hp pavilion :| because can't afford a new iMac. When googling for info to upgrade the hp, I found threads related to you. I have since been reading so many different threads/videos mostly older ones, that at some point got me just so confused, I am not that familiar to PC's nor windows 8. I know windows but haven't been a user since like 2003. So I decide to give it a try before I start depending more on files/usage of windows 8.
    I have everything to start and that's the reason I wanna try it, because I guess risk are minor ones, well I hope so and that's what I need some advice.
    This HP PC supports BIOS/UEFI, most of the settings on your guide are default on this machine. I have a blank SATA HDD (250GB), Snow Leopard Install DVD, USB flash. Graphics are integrated. Here are shots from CPU-Z

    Capture1.PNG Capture2.PNG Capture3.PNG Capture4.PNG

    I have read on different forums that it is needed a newest BIOS version, but when asked to HP they said the one the machine came with is the newest one, also they said I can't find it at foxconn because that's HP specific. I just update a new driver they released on 7-13-2013 for the UEFI support, but that's the newest stuff I can find. On other threads I found it's needed a DSDT file, but some say that's only when streaming audio through HDMI. I don't really care about it as long it has nothing to do with ProTools (or I mean, Logic :clap:)
    Reading your guide to install snow leopard seems clear/easy as compared to all the info I already found. Just would like to know if it stills applicable up to date. Also in this forum found that it's better to stay at version 10.6.7 instead to go all the way up to 10.6.8
    So, any advice would be really appreciated, hope we can do this, but for what I can search in the forum, seems that nobody has ever tried it or had success with this setup. Well, I just wanna give it a try, the worst try is the one you never try.


    p.s. I have plans to upgrade to i7 2600 quad processor, but until after autumn, and don't wanna wait that long. Crossing fingers for this setup being supported as a "candidate".
     
  2. Going Bald

    Going Bald Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    19,415
    Mobo:
    GA-X58A-UD7 Rev.1 BIOS F7
    CPU:
    i7-920
    Graphics:
    Sapphire HD5770
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    iMac
    Aug 15, 2013 #2
    Going Bald

    Going Bald Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    19,415
    Mobo:
    GA-X58A-UD7 Rev.1 BIOS F7
    CPU:
    i7-920
    Graphics:
    Sapphire HD5770
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    iMac
    You need more info on what is on your board. You can download a free app called speccy from piriform - http://www.piriform.com/speccy

    Right now, you will have a hard time installing. Your CPU is single core - you need a 2 core CPU to run SL, so a CPU upgrade is needed for sure.
    You also need a gfx card as the HD graphics is not supported.
     
  3. totenkopf4

    totenkopf4

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    4,188
    Mobo:
    GA-EX58-UD3R-SLI
    CPU:
    XEON x5570
    Graphics:
    NVidia 9600GT
    Mac:
    MacBook, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    SE
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Aug 15, 2013 #3
    totenkopf4

    totenkopf4

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    4,188
    Mobo:
    GA-EX58-UD3R-SLI
    CPU:
    XEON x5570
    Graphics:
    NVidia 9600GT
    Mac:
    MacBook, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    SE
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    AtlantaMusicGuy

    As G B has stated knowing the internals of this Motherboard are most important for building a Hack.

    This is why the Gigabyte as well as the ASUS line of motherboards are recommended for a Hack.

    You should be able to get a Sandy Bridge CPU for a relatively low price now as Intel has then at End of Life all of the Sandy Bridge CPUs that we use for SB hacks.

    This means once they are gone - no more will be made.

    So What you need to find out is on this model of the Pavilion Desktop what the CPU options were for this - HP website should provide this for you as they were sold in various configurations.

    Also see if you can find out if these desktops were offered w Intel HD 4000 or HD 3000 Internal Graphics ( graphics provided by the CPU) as this would mean that you do not need a GFX card. to install OSX. Currently your G465 CPu has the Intel HD GFX built into the system so replacing the CPU w another would be a wiser option now.

    Do not get a CPU that has HD2000 or HD2500 as they will not work for Snow Leopard. ( it will make the install more difficult.)

    As to Video Cards - if your needing to stay on Snow Leopard then you need to know that the newer Video cards will not work; you will need to locate and older Video card. Suggest some scrounging in local computer recycle or junk bins. Suggest you also ask friends and family if they have any video cards or older computers that are not needed to be used for salvage.

    Here is a link for you to see and maybe find an older discrete video card that will work w Snow Leopard.
    http://legacy.tonymacx86.com/wiki/index.php/Graphics_Card_Database

    So you need to get some research and let us know -

    Also do fill out your signature block w the details of this desktop AKA the model number.

    Also you will need to know the internals of this motherboard. Such as the Sound Codex and network so as to see how compatible they will be!
     
  4. AtlantaMusicGuy

    AtlantaMusicGuy

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Mobo:
    windows 8 64-bit
    CPU:
    Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU G465 @ 1.90GHz
    Graphics:
    Intel(R) HD Graphics
    Aug 15, 2013 #4
    AtlantaMusicGuy

    AtlantaMusicGuy

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Mobo:
    windows 8 64-bit
    CPU:
    Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU G465 @ 1.90GHz
    Graphics:
    Intel(R) HD Graphics
    ok guys, thanks a lot.

    I just signed in and gonna start working on that research, as well updating my signature. I'll be back when got enough info.
     
  5. AtlantaMusicGuy

    AtlantaMusicGuy

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Mobo:
    windows 8 64-bit
    CPU:
    Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU G465 @ 1.90GHz
    Graphics:
    Intel(R) HD Graphics
    Aug 16, 2013 #5
    AtlantaMusicGuy

    AtlantaMusicGuy

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Mobo:
    windows 8 64-bit
    CPU:
    Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU G465 @ 1.90GHz
    Graphics:
    Intel(R) HD Graphics
    totenkopf4, Going Bald,

    Here’s what I found:

    ***You should be able to get a Sandy Bridge CPU for a relatively low price now as Intel has then at End of Life all of the Sandy Bridge CPUs that we use for SB hacks.

    --->This is from speccy and HP product specifications page (my HP pavilion model), motherboard info:
    New Picture1.png New Picture2.jpg

    --->And processor info:
    New Picture3.png

    --->Highlighted is the processor I am planning to get.
    --->This is from Intel’s website:

    New Picture4.png New Picture5.png New Picture6.png New Picture7.png

    ***Also see if you can find out if these desktops were offered w Intel HD 4000 or HD 3000 Internal Graphics ( graphics provided by the CPU) as this would mean that you do not need a GFX card. to install OSX. Currently your G465 CPu has the Intel HD GFX built into the system so replacing the CPU w another would be a wiser option now.

    --->At this point I have to think what the choices are based on HD2000 that is built in. I don’t have to stick to SL, but as far as my experience goes it turned out to be a pretty solid/stable platform as a DAW, either for ProTools or Logic. But as I lean toward Logic, I don’ really care if PT isn’t supported for ML as long I have Logic up and running :thumbup: . In this scenario, I don’t need to buy an extra gfx if skipping SL and going to ML, am I correct? Yes, I am talking about the older ones, but do I need a newer? An HD3000? Can I skip it? Not into game/video, totally into audio. About video just want something decently operable.

    --->From newegg I got some choices (they have plenty, just need time to check them out), something like this, but would like something fanless (noise could be an issue), NOT an OC guy here (I read where heat comes from):
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814130815


    ***Also you will need to know the internals of this motherboard. Such as the Sound Codex and network so as to see how compatible they will be!

    --->From HP product specs page, Audio/Video/Network (take into account that this crappy Integrated Audio was disabled on arrival, audio is handled on external interfaces, over FW400, a win8 ready and Mac compatible card http://www.siig.com/it-products/firewire/firewire-400/pcie/dp-firewire-2-port-pcie.html )

    New Picture8.png New Picture9.png
    New Picture10.png
    New Picture11.png New Picture12.png

    ***Also do fill out your signature block w the details of this desktop AKA the model number.

    --->This is the link to the product specs, I decided to post shots thinking is easier when reading, but in case I oversight something:

    http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsuppor...3668424&prodTypeId=12454&prodSeriesId=5330780

    --->P.s. came to me that I haven’t mentioned the monitor which I don’t know if it’s relevant, here it goes:
    New Picture13.png
    --->Here's a link to the monitor
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16824009437


    Well, I hope you guys have some good news based on this info, hope hear soon from you!
     
  6. Going Bald

    Going Bald Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    19,415
    Mobo:
    GA-X58A-UD7 Rev.1 BIOS F7
    CPU:
    i7-920
    Graphics:
    Sapphire HD5770
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    iMac
    Aug 16, 2013 #6
    Going Bald

    Going Bald Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    19,415
    Mobo:
    GA-X58A-UD7 Rev.1 BIOS F7
    CPU:
    i7-920
    Graphics:
    Sapphire HD5770
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    iMac
    The CPU you list has HD2000. If you get a CPU with HD3000 gfx you don't need a discrete GPU.
     
  7. AtlantaMusicGuy

    AtlantaMusicGuy

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Mobo:
    windows 8 64-bit
    CPU:
    Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU G465 @ 1.90GHz
    Graphics:
    Intel(R) HD Graphics
    Aug 16, 2013 #7
    AtlantaMusicGuy

    AtlantaMusicGuy

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Mobo:
    windows 8 64-bit
    CPU:
    Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU G465 @ 1.90GHz
    Graphics:
    Intel(R) HD Graphics
    :crazy: Oops!

    Thanks for point that out, I started googling everything you guys said, but forgot to switch in my mind that I am no longer have to think in terms of my previous plan for this machine. So, what I am gonna do is to check for each supported processor and its graphics.
     
  8. AtlantaMusicGuy

    AtlantaMusicGuy

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Mobo:
    windows 8 64-bit
    CPU:
    Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU G465 @ 1.90GHz
    Graphics:
    Intel(R) HD Graphics
    Aug 16, 2013 #8
    AtlantaMusicGuy

    AtlantaMusicGuy

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Mobo:
    windows 8 64-bit
    CPU:
    Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU G465 @ 1.90GHz
    Graphics:
    Intel(R) HD Graphics
    Ok, I went through the list and match it to Intel’s website, then search on line to check availability, so the list is reduced to just a couple processors. Price/Speed/Age wins Intel Core i3-3245 3.4GHz.

    New Picture (1).jpg


    Notes:

    ---It is Intel HD Graphics 4000, I don’t know if is there a preference installation-wise for 3000/4000. I am picking this one because the 3000 supported are previous i3 generation -2xxx- (wow! I seem start learning)
    ---PCIe configurations on it caught my attention as I depend on it to hook up (FW400) audio interfaces, but as far as I read on http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/Intel/Ivy_Bridge_PCI-Express_Scaling/ it shouldn’t be a problem, correct me if wrong. This machine is
    One PCI Express x16 (Gen2.0)
    Three PCI Express x1 (Gen2.0)
    One PCI Express x1 Mini Card


    I know that changing hw configuration changes the options to install and its requirements (still learning!). So with this CPU what else am I gonna need, BIOS, DSDT… I don’t even grasp it at all, even when reading I don’t know what’s needed for this machine and HP isn’t that helpful at it. This is from a thread related to UEFI environment:

    ------------------------------------------
    08-09-2013 08:30 AM
    Thanks DavidPk,

    This didn't touch bios did it? I did update one time, because once again HP shipped it out as an important update. Luckily for me it installed, causing one minor issue which was mostly resolved with a driver update. I then started looking around and read lots of horror stories about how bad updates can turn your laptop into a brick. No more bios updates for me. I really wish HP would refine their update priority scheme. Or offer real explanations about what the update is for.

    ‎---------------------------
    08-09-2013 08:57 AM
    Hi,

    No, it won't have affected the bios.

    There is a feature added in this environment which 'can' enable you to roll back to a previous bios version in the event of a flash going wrong - the current bios is backed up ( again, this is stored in the HP_TOOLS partition ) before the new bios version is applied. This is a somewhat hit-and-miss solution to a bad flash because it requires that the machine can still start-up and acceess the uefi environment, but can be useful in some situations.

    Best regards,

    DP-K
    ---------------------------------------


    That’s about the UEFI environment I just downloaded too, and when I asked to tech support about a new BIOS update, they said there wasn’t and foxconn updates weren’t related to this motherboard as it was HP specific and upgrading to it would void my warranty o_O. If you read a mess up here it's because I can’t understand what else I need.

    So let me know your thoughts/advice about what to do. :thumbup:
     

    Attached Files:

    • Intel Core i3-3245.jpg  (172.8 KB, 35 views)
  9. AtlantaMusicGuy

    AtlantaMusicGuy

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Mobo:
    windows 8 64-bit
    CPU:
    Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU G465 @ 1.90GHz
    Graphics:
    Intel(R) HD Graphics
    Aug 17, 2013 #9
    AtlantaMusicGuy

    AtlantaMusicGuy

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Mobo:
    windows 8 64-bit
    CPU:
    Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU G465 @ 1.90GHz
    Graphics:
    Intel(R) HD Graphics
    Matching processors available and supported for this machine I found Intel® Core™ i3-3225 processor as an option, which I guess is about the same than Intel® Core™ i3-3245, some said is like a replacement (newer)... Just sharing what I found.
     
  10. totenkopf4

    totenkopf4

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    4,188
    Mobo:
    GA-EX58-UD3R-SLI
    CPU:
    XEON x5570
    Graphics:
    NVidia 9600GT
    Mac:
    MacBook, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    SE
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Aug 17, 2013 #10
    totenkopf4

    totenkopf4

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    4,188
    Mobo:
    GA-EX58-UD3R-SLI
    CPU:
    XEON x5570
    Graphics:
    NVidia 9600GT
    Mac:
    MacBook, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    SE
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    AtlantaMusicGuy

    What you need to know is which of these two CPU's will work w the Stock HP Bios that you have.

    Bios code is updated when the manufacturer's test and validate newer Intel CPU's to work on the hardware ( motherboard)\

    What is in the BIOS file is microcode for the different versions of supported Intel Processors.

    So you need to know from HP which one is used or was used as an upgraded processor and only get what HP tells you.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page