AMD Radeon HD 7xxx Graphics Support in OS X 10.8.3

Discussion in 'Graphics' started by tonymacx86, Mar 20, 2013.

  1. tonymacx86

    tonymacx86 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    7,841
    Mobo:
    GA-Z170X-UD5-TH
    CPU:
    Core i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    HD 530 / GT 740
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Apple, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Mar 20, 2013 #1
    tonymacx86

    tonymacx86 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    7,841
    Mobo:
    GA-Z170X-UD5-TH
    CPU:
    Core i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    HD 530 / GT 740
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Apple, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    radeon.jpg
    Well, the OS X 10.8.3 update is finally out, and the big news is the diverse new graphics support. Apple's added drivers for some AMD Radeon HD 7xxx graphics cards to OS X. There are a few tricks required for enabling these cards, so we're not recommending them officially yet.
    7870+HD4000-2.png
    OS X 10.8.3 devices supported:
    AMD Radeon HD 7750, 7770, 7870, 7950, 7970

    How to Boot using AMD Radeon HD 7xxx:
    The AMD Radeon HD 7xxx must be the secondary graphics device in your system in order to boot using Chimera/Chameleon without a boot error and gibberish text. This is because of the larger video BIOS size. You can work around this by having a second AMD PCIe card in your system, or if using a motherboard with integrated graphics, set it to display first. The primary graphics device will handle the boot portion, and allow the system to boot perfectly with full graphics acceleration.

    For current Gigabyte motherboards with AMI UEFI, set these two settings for dual graphics.

    Init Display First: IGFX
    Internal Graphics: Disabled (OS X will recognize fully)

    130317145906.jpg
    You can use GraphicsEnabler=Yes, use default GUID partition format, and everything should work.

    For Gigabyte motherboards with Award BIOS, set these two settings.

    Init Display First: Onboard
    Onboard VGA: Always Enable


    You may have to use GraphicsEnabler=No in order to access the desktop successfully.

    Please don't view this post as buying advice. AMD Radeon HD 7xxx support is experimental and may or may not ever be fully supported by the tools and operating system. If you have one of these devices, add your test results here. Have fun!

    Related:

    OS X 10.8.3 Update
    10.8.3 AMD Radeon HD 7xxx Testing Thread
    10.8.3 AMD Radeon HD 7870 Screenshots
    List of Confirmed Radeon HD 7xxx Series (10.8.3+)
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 29, 2016
  2. Fab1Man

    Fab1Man

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    40
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus VI Gene
    CPU:
    Core i7-4770k
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GTX 780
    Mac:
    Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Mar 20, 2013 #2
    Fab1Man

    Fab1Man

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    40
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus VI Gene
    CPU:
    Core i7-4770k
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GTX 780
    Mac:
    Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Article: AMD Radeon HD 7xxx Graphics Support in OS X 10.8.3

    As long as it shows 7xxx it doesn't support full acceleration. DSDT injection with the sleep trick is one way, or using a hybrid EFI vBIOS with the Clover UEFI bootloader.
     
  3. tonymacx86

    tonymacx86 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    7,841
    Mobo:
    GA-Z170X-UD5-TH
    CPU:
    Core i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    HD 530 / GT 740
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Apple, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Mar 20, 2013 #3
    tonymacx86

    tonymacx86 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    7,841
    Mobo:
    GA-Z170X-UD5-TH
    CPU:
    Core i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    HD 530 / GT 740
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Apple, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Article: AMD Radeon HD 7xxx Graphics Support in OS X 10.8.3

    I've benchmarked and confirmed it's working with full acceleration. Chimera doesn't have 7xxx GraphicsEnabler code- that's why you see the "7xxx" while using GraphicsEnabler=Yes. And the fact that there are no official Macs with 7xxx means that the drivers are injecting default values.
     
  4. WokieZeppelin

    WokieZeppelin

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2013
    Messages:
    21
    Mobo:
    MAC OS X Mountain Lion 10.8.3
    CPU:
    i3-3220
    Graphics:
    HD7770
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Mar 20, 2013 #4
    WokieZeppelin

    WokieZeppelin

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2013
    Messages:
    21
    Mobo:
    MAC OS X Mountain Lion 10.8.3
    CPU:
    i3-3220
    Graphics:
    HD7770
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    The DVI-VGA adapter is working? I have a HD7770-DC-1GD5-V2 graphics card.
     
  5. Felix10R

    Felix10R

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Mobo:
    Asrock Fatal1ty Z77 Professional
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5 3570K
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GeForce GT 630
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Mar 20, 2013 #5
    Felix10R

    Felix10R

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Mobo:
    Asrock Fatal1ty Z77 Professional
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5 3570K
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GeForce GT 630
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Why can I see a working mouse cursor with a white background? The SleepEnabler Trick is not working for me. :( I have a HD 7770 graphics card on the AsRock Fatal1ty Z77 Professional Mainboard but would be really happy if someone have a SleepEnabler.kext for my Mainboard or a working method without the SleepEnabler.kext. I have to add that I had deleted the kext for my internal Graphics, because otherwhise i got a KP

    Edit:
    These are the fixes for my problem:
    -latest Chameleon Bootloader
    -http://www.osx86.net/downloads.php?do=file&id=3766
     
  6. TheConnactic

    TheConnactic

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    Messages:
    168
    Mobo:
    OsX Mountain Lion 10.8.2
    CPU:
    Intel Core I5 3570K 3.4 GHZ
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 4000 Integrated Graphics
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Mar 20, 2013 #6
    TheConnactic

    TheConnactic

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    Messages:
    168
    Mobo:
    OsX Mountain Lion 10.8.2
    CPU:
    Intel Core I5 3570K 3.4 GHZ
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 4000 Integrated Graphics
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Felix, did you try using Clover UEFI?
     
  7. Felix10R

    Felix10R

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Mobo:
    Asrock Fatal1ty Z77 Professional
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5 3570K
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GeForce GT 630
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Mar 20, 2013 #7
    Felix10R

    Felix10R

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Mobo:
    Asrock Fatal1ty Z77 Professional
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5 3570K
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GeForce GT 630
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    No I use the newest Chameleon, but what does Clover UEFI do instead of Chameleon or Chimera?
     
  8. Pr3fix

    Pr3fix

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Messages:
    52
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte UP5-TH
    CPU:
    3770k
    Graphics:
    ATI 7950
    Mar 20, 2013 #8
    Pr3fix

    Pr3fix

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Messages:
    52
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte UP5-TH
    CPU:
    3770k
    Graphics:
    ATI 7950
    Article: AMD Radeon HD 7xxx Graphics Support in OS X 10.8.3

    "You can work around this by having a second AMD PCIe card in your system, or if using a motherboard with integrated graphics, set it to display first."

    does this mean the monitor must be plugged into the onboard GPU in order to work? Basically I have a Gigabyte UP5-TH with a 3770k/HD4000 IGPU, and an XFX 7950 in the PCI-E slot. I have triple monitors plugged into the 7950. I don't want any monitors plugged into the onboard, do I have to do that in order to make this guide work? Can't test right now as I'm in class.

    Thanks for any replies!
     
  9. tonymacx86

    tonymacx86 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    7,841
    Mobo:
    GA-Z170X-UD5-TH
    CPU:
    Core i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    HD 530 / GT 740
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Apple, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Mar 20, 2013 #9
    tonymacx86

    tonymacx86 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    7,841
    Mobo:
    GA-Z170X-UD5-TH
    CPU:
    Core i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    HD 530 / GT 740
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Apple, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Article: AMD Radeon HD 7xxx Graphics Support in OS X 10.8.3

    No, although I used 2 monitors, using this method you can boot "blind" into the os using just one monitor. When things come up, you should have full access to the AMD card.
     
  10. Felix10R

    Felix10R

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Mobo:
    Asrock Fatal1ty Z77 Professional
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5 3570K
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GeForce GT 630
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Mar 20, 2013 #10
    Felix10R

    Felix10R

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Mobo:
    Asrock Fatal1ty Z77 Professional
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5 3570K
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GeForce GT 630
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Is there any solution for my problem out yet without using Clover?

    "Why can I see a working mouse cursor with a white background? The SleepEnabler Trick is not working for me. :( I have a HD 7770 graphics card on the AsRock Fatal1ty Z77 Professional Mainboard but would be really happy if someone have a SleepEnabler.kext for my Mainboard or a working method without the SleepEnabler.kext. I have to add that I had deleted the kext for my internal Graphics, because otherwhise i got a KP"

    Thanks for every solution or reply :)
     

Share This Page